Products & Solutions

CDS-BARS

Clinical Decision Support and Benchmarking in Acute Geriatrics Units

Background

Approximately 40% of Austrian facilities for acute geriatrics and remobilization (AG/R) participate in the cross-carrier and cross-state initiative ‚Benchmarking in Austrian Acute Geriatrics‘, which has been collecting Real World Data (RWD) for quality assurance purposes via the BARS (Benchmarking and Reporting) system (http://healthgate.at) since 2008. In addition, BARS is and has been used in Austria and Germany for structured data collection in the treatment of other chronic diseases such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases or hepatitis C, since the beginning of the 2000s. More than half a million patients form more than 700 participating centres have already been documented.

Project content

Vision CDS-BARS. The Guidance System (1) outside the AG/R supports the identification of geriatric patients, the Therapy/Monitoring System (2) within the AG/R supports, among other things, the documentation of geriatric assessments. The collected data are used in the Benchmarking System (3) for performance control and comparison with other facilities.

 

As part of the CDS-BARS initiative, the benchmarking system is being modernized (http://cds-bars.eu) and linked to innovative eHealth systems for process and decision support in acute geriatrics. The goals are higher process quality, reduced workload and time saving by avoiding multiple documentation.

The vision includes a Guidance System, which supports the identification of geriatric patients outside the AG/R (e.g. in emergency departements), as well as a Therapy/Monitoring System, which supports healthcare professionals in the AG/R (e.g. in interdisciplinary team meetings, documentation of geriatric assessments, monitoring of individual goal achievement and discharge management). The collected data is automatically pseudonymized and transferred to the Benchmarking System, which can be used for performance monitoring and for comparison with other facilities.

.

The conceptual design and iterative development of the eHealth systems is carried out together with future users within the framework of a co-creation process. This includes interdisciplinary focus groups and interviews, as well as process observations and workshops.

Project key facts

 

Project lead: DI Dr. Klaus Donsa

Phase 1 (Benchmarking System):

  • Duration: 2018 – 2020
  • Status: Go-Live in October 2020
  • Funding: Health Fund Carinthia, Health Fund Styria
  • Partners: JOANNEUM RESEARCH, Association QiGG (Quality in Geriatrics and Gerontology), Geriatric Health Centres of the City of Graz, Medical University of Graz

Phase 2 (Therapy/Monitoring System):

  • Duration: 2021 – 2022
  • Status: Pilot testing in three Austrian states in 2022
  • Funding: Health Fund Carinthia, Health Fund Styria, Health Fund Vienna
  • Partners: JOANNEUM RESEARCH, Association QiGG (Quality in Geriatrics and Gerontology)

Phase 3 (Guidance System):

  • Duration: Conceptual design and development since 2018
  • Status: Demonstrator developed (TRL 2); ongoing thesis for algorithm development (2021)
  • Funding: current application for funding
Publications
  • Donsa, K; et al. (2019) User-centred development of an innovative eHealth system for comprehensive quality assurance and therapy support in Austrian acute geriatrics and remobilization facilities. Netzwerk Altersmedizin Steiermark 2019
  • Kopanz, J; et al. (2021) User-centred requirement analysis for a digital workflow and decision support tool in geriatric care. 25th Nordic Congress of Gerontology 2021
  • Donsa, K; et al. (2021) Konzeptionierung und Entwicklung eines eHealth-Systems für den Einsatz in der Akutgeriatrie – Co-Creation im Gesundheitsbereich. Geriatriekongress 2021
  • Donsa, K; et al. (2021) Die COVID-Pandemie aus der Sicht des Benchmarkings in der österreichischen Geriatrie. Geriatriekongress 2021

Produkte & Lösungen

CDS-BARS

Benchmarking und klinische Entscheidungsunterstützung in der Akutgeriatrie

Hintergrund

Ca. 40% der österreichischen Einrichtungen der Akutgeriatrie/Remobilisation (AG/R) nehmen an der träger- und bundesländerübergreifenden Initiative ‚Benchmarking in der österreichischen Akutgeriatrie‘ teil, die seit 2008 Real World Daten (RWD) für Qualitätssicherungszwecke über das System BARS (http://healthgate.at) erhebt. Zusätzlich wird und wurde BARS mit Beginn der 2000er Jahre in Österreich und Deutschland auch für die strukturierte Datenerfassung bei der Behandlung weiterer chronischer Erkrankungen wie z.B. Diabetes, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen oder Hepatitis C eingesetzt. So konnten bereits über eine halbe Million Patient:innen aus mehr als 700 teilnehmenden Zentren dokumentiert werden.

Projektinhalt

Abbildung 1: Vision CDS-BARS. Das Leitsystem (1) außerhalb der AG/R unterstützt bei der Identifikation geriatrischer Patient:innen, das Therapie/Monitoring-System (2) innerhalb der AG/R unterstützt u.a. bei der Dokumentation geriatrischer Assessments. Die erhobenen Daten werden im Benchmarking-System (3) zur eigenen Leistungskontrolle und zum Vergleich mit anderen Einrichtungen genutzt.

 

Im Rahmen der Initiative CDS-BARS (Clinical Decision Support und Benchmarking in der Akutgeriatrie) wird das Benchmarking System modernisiert (http://cds-bars.eu) und mit innovativen eHealth-Systemen zur Prozess- und Entscheidungsunterstützung in der Akutgeriatrie verknüpft. Ziele sind höhere Prozessqualität, Arbeitserleichterung und Zeitersparnis durch das Vermeiden von Mehrfachdokumentationen.

Die Vision umfasst ein Leitsystem, welches außerhalb der AG/R (z.B. in Notaufnahmen) bei der Identifikation geriatrischer Patient:innen unterstützt, sowie ein Therapie/Monitoring System, welches innerhalb der AG/R unterstützt, u.a. bei interdisziplinären Teambesprechungen, bei der Dokumentation geriatrischer Assessments, Überwachung der individuellen Zielerreichung und bei der Vorbereitung des Entlassungsmanagements. Die erhobenen Daten werden anschließend in pseudonymisierter Form automatisch an das Benchmarking System übertragen, welches zur eigenen Leistungskontrolle und zum Vergleich mit anderen Einrichtungen verwendet werden kann.

Die Konzeptionierung und iterative Entwicklung der eHealth-Systeme erfolgt gemeinsam mit zukünftigen Anwender:innen im Rahmen eines Co-Creation-Prozesses. Dieser umfasst interdisziplinäre Fokusgruppen und Interviews, sowie Prozessbeobachtungen und Workshops.

Projektdaten

 

Projektleitung: DI Dr. Klaus Donsa

Phase 1 (Benchmarking System):

  • Laufzeit: 2018 – 2020
  • Status: Go-Live im Oktober 2020
  • Förderung: Gesundheitsfonds Kärnten, Gesundheitsfonds Steiermark
  • Partner: JOANNEUM RESEARCH, Verein QiGG (Qualität in der Geriatrie und Gerontologie), Geriatrische Gesundheitszentren Graz, Medizinische Universität Graz

Phase 2 (Therapie/Monitoring System):

  • Laufzeit: 2021 – 2022
  • Status: Pilotierungen in drei Bundesländern 2022
  • Förderung: Gesundheitsfonds Kärnten, Gesundheitsfonds Steiermark, Gesundheitsfonds Wien
  • Partner: JOANNEUM RESEARCH, Verein QiGG

Phase 3 (Leitsystem):

  • Laufzeit: Konzeptionierung und Entwicklung seit 2018
  • Status: Demonstrator entwickelt (TRL 2); laufende Diplomarbeit für Entwicklung der Algorithmen (2021)
  • Förderung: derzeitige Förderwerbung
Publikationen
  • Donsa, K; et al. (2019) User-centred development of an innovative eHealth system for comprehensive quality assurance and therapy support in Austrian acute geriatrics and remobilization facilities. Netzwerk Altersmedizin Steiermark 2019
  • Kopanz, J; et al. (2021) User-centred requirement analysis for a digital workflow and decision support tool in geriatric care. 25th Nordic Congress of Gerontology 2021
  • Donsa, K; et al. (2021) Konzeptionierung und Entwicklung eines eHealth-Systems für den Einsatz in der Akutgeriatrie – Co-Creation im Gesundheitsbereich. Geriatriekongress 2021
  • Donsa, K; et al. (2021) Die COVID-Pandemie aus der Sicht des Benchmarkings in der österreichischen Geriatrie. Geriatriekongress 2021