Products & Solutions

OPcheck

Innovative Process Digitization in the Operating Room

Background

In order to reduce potential risks during surgical procedures, the WHO developed the "Surgical Safety Checklist" for the briefing in the operating room in 2008. The active management of safety-related information by the entire surgical team led to a significant reduction in complications. Due to its proven clinical benefit, the checklist experienced widespread distribution and standardization. In practice, however, the use of this paper-based checklist poses major challenges for the surgical team: increased time efforts, insufficient integration into existing work processes, and resulting acceptance problems. At the University Hospital of Graz, a paper-based checklist was implemented step by step starting in 2013 and was further developed iteratively. This revealed acceptance problems that improved only partially over the years despite intensive training efforts. Increasing digitization in the healthcare sector creates the opportunity to offer added value for users in the form of decision-making and process support, thereby increasing acceptance.

Project content

 

To further reduce potential errors during surgical procedures, JOANNEUM RESEARCH HEALTH and the Steiermärkische Krankenanstaltengesellschaft (KAGes) are working on an innovative approach to process digitization. By creating relevant added value for users, the acceptance of the application, the degree of completion and patient safety are to be increased. Relevant information is made available to users in a structured manner throughout the entire perioperative process (pre-OP, intra-OP and post-OP) and the OP-check system is fully integrated into the hospital information system.

The conceptual design and development of the system is carried out in an interdisciplinary manner together with future users within the framework of a co-creation process. This includes interdisciplinary focus groups and interviews, as well as process observations and workshops. The pilot testing and clinical evaluation of the OP-check system will be carried out in 2021 at selected wards of the two KAGes sites in Deutschlandsberg and Graz.

Project key facts
  • Duration: 2019 - 2021
  • Project lead: DI Dr. Klaus Donsa
  • Status: Prototype
  • Funding: Financial resources of JOANNEUM RESEARCH
  • Co-Creation development process with the Steiermärkische Krankenanstaltengesellschaft (KAGes)
Publications
  • Kiefel, K; et al. (2018) Feasibility and Design of an Electronic Surgical Safety Checklist in a Teaching Hospital: A User-Based Approach. Studies in Health Technology and Informatics. 248.

Produkte & Lösungen

OPcheck

Innovative Prozessdigitalisierung im Operationssaal

Hintergrund

Um mögliche Risiken bei chirurgischen Eingriffen zu senken, entwickelte die WHO 2008 die „Surgical Safety Checklist“ für das Briefing im Operationssaal. Das aktive Management von sicherheitsrelevanten Informationen durch das gesamte OP-Team führte zu einer signifikanten Reduktion von Komplikationen. Durch den nachgewiesenen klinischen Nutzen erfuhr die Checkliste eine weite Verbreitung und Standardisierung. In der Praxis stellt der Einsatz dieser papierbasierten Checkliste das OP-Team allerdings vor große Herausforderungen: erhöhter Zeitaufwand, unzureichende Einbindung in bestehende Arbeitsprozesse und daraus resultierende Akzeptanzprobleme. Am LKH Univ.-Klinikum Graz wurde eine papierbasierte Checkliste ab 2013 schrittweise implementiert und iterativ weiterentwickelt. Dabei zeigten sich Akzeptanzprobleme, die sich über die Jahre trotz intensivem Schulungsaufwand nur teilweise verbesserten. Durch die zunehmende Digitalisierung im Gesundheitsbereich entsteht die Möglichkeit, Anwendern einen Mehrwert in Form von Entscheidungs- und Prozessunterstützung zu bieten und dadurch die Akzeptanz zu steigern.

Projektinhalt

 

Um mögliche Fehler bei chirurgischen Eingriffen weiter zu reduzieren, arbeiten JOANNEUM RESEARCH HEALTH und die Steiermärkische Krankenanstaltengesellschaft (KAGes) an einem innovativen Ansatz der Prozessdigitalisierung. Durch Schaffung relevanter Mehrwerte für Anwender sollen die Akzeptanz der Anwendung, der Ausfüllgrad und die Patientensicherheit gesteigert werden. Dabei werden den Anwender:innen über den gesamten perioperativen Prozess (prä-OP, intra-OP und post-OP) relevante Informationen strukturiert zur Verfügung gestellt und das OPcheck-System vollständig in das Krankenhausinformationssystem (KIS) integriert.

Die Konzeptionierung und Entwicklung des Systems erfolgt interdisziplinär gemeinsam mit zukünftigen Anwender:innen im Rahmen eines Co-Creation-Prozesses. Dieser umfasst interdisziplinäre Fokusgruppen und Interviews, sowie Prozessbeobachtungen und Workshops. Die Pilotierung und klinische Evaluierung des OPcheck-Systems wird 2021 an ausgewählten Stationen der beiden KAGes-Standorten Deutschlandsberg und Graz durchgeführt.

Projektdaten
  • Laufzeit: 2019 - 2021
  • Projektleitung: DI Dr. Klaus Donsa
  • Status: Prototyp
  • Förderung: Eigenmittel der JOANNEUM RESEARCH
  • Co-Creation Entwicklungsprozess mit die der steiermärkischen Krankenanstaltengesellschaft (KAGes)
Publikationen
  • Kiefel, K; et al. (2018) Feasibility and Design of an Electronic Surgical Safety Checklist in a Teaching Hospital: A User-Based Approach. Studies in Health Technology and Informatics. 248.