the innovation company

Infra-structure

Mobile Manipulation

 

In intelligent logistics rail-unbound and autonomous mobile robots are used for the transportation of goods through spacious production halls. So-called mobile manipulators additionally consist of a robot arm and do their work remote-controlled or in safe areas. Mobile sensitive manipulators represent an essential functional extension of these robotic systems. This type of autonomous robots has the decisive advantage of guaranteeing physical safety for persons in the near field. With this technology it is therefore possible to realize mobile object manipulation in busy manufacturing halls.

CHIMERA

The institute’s mobile sensitive manipulator CHIMERA consists of two subsystems, a mobile platform MiR 100 and a sensitive serial robot UR10, combined to an overall system. Two laser scanners on the mobile platform ensure a vision of  360 degrees and enable the robot to navigate around people and obstacles in a natural way or rather stop the robot system in case of missing alternative routes. Thanks to internal sensor data analysis the robot arm can be used for safe applications in the field of human-robot collaboration.

CHIMERA can be used for intralogistics tasks which require a higher level of intelligence at a robotic system. Examples are on-demand refill of kanban-shelves, kitting or material transport between production machines. CHIMERA is designed as an extensible platform where additional functions can easily be added.

CHIMERA - mobile sensitive manipulator
CHIMERA - mobile sensitive manipulator

Photo credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH
Javascript ist nicht aktiviert - die Website kann an manchen Stellen nicht korrekt angezeigt werden.

the innovation company

Infra-struktur

Mobile Manipulation

 

In der intelligenten Logistik werden spurungebundene und auch autonome mobile Roboter für Gütertransporte durch weitläufige Fertigungshallen eingesetzt. Sogenannte mobile Manipulatoren bestehen zusätzlich aus einem Roboterarm und verrichten ihre Arbeit ferngelenkt oder in abgesicherten Bereichen. Eine wesentliche funktionelle Erweiterung dieser Robotersysteme stellen mobile sensitive Manipulatoren dar. Derartige autonom agierende Roboter weisen den entscheidenden Vorteil auf, physische Sicherheit gegenüber Personen im Nahbereich zu garantieren. Mit dieser Technologie ist es daher möglich, mobile Objekt-Manipulation in belebten Fertigungshallen realisieren zu können.

CHIMERA

Der am Institut entwickelte mobile sensitive Manipulator CHIMERA wurde aus zwei Teilsystemen, einer  mobilen Plattform MiR 100 und einem sensitiven seriellen Roboter UR10, zu einem Gesamtsystem kombiniert.  Zwei Laserscanner an der mobilen Plattform stellen eine Sichtabdeckung von 360 Grad sicher und ermöglichen dem Roboter auf natürliche Weise um Personen und Hindernisse zu navigieren bzw. bei Fehlen einer alternativen Route das Robotersystem anzuhalten. Der Roboterarm ist aufgrund einer internen Sensordatenauswertung für sichere Anwendungen im Bereich der Mensch-Roboter Kollaboration einsetzbar.

CHIMERA kann für Aufgaben in der Intralogistik eingesetzt werden, die eine höhere Intelligenz vom Robotersystem verlangen. Beispiele hierfür sind bedarfsorientierte Bestückung von Kanban-Regalen, Kitting oder Materialtransport zwischen Maschinen. CHIMERA wurde von Grund auf als erweiterbare Plattform entworfen, um zusätzliche Funktionalitäten leicht integrieren zu können.

CHIMERA - mobiler sensitiver Manipulator
CHIMERA - mobiler sensitiver Manipulator

Fotocredit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH
Javascript ist nicht aktiviert - die Website kann an manchen Stellen nicht korrekt angezeigt werden.