Industry

Intelligent methods, solutions and processes for greater efficiency and resource conservation in production.

Credit:JOANNEUM RESEARCH/Bergmann

Image processing laboratory. Credit:JOANNEUM RESEARCH/Bergmann

 

We focus on the application of various sensor technologies to help the industry to achieve greater efficiency and resource conservation while maintaining flexibility in production. Optical and acoustic sensors are combined into intelligent sensor systems to enable high-precision measurements and to gain new insights into the observed products and processes from the data streams, with the help of artificial intelligence.

 

Research focus:

  • Quality assurance with intelligent sensor technology
  • Monitoring of production plants
  • Sorting of waste materials
  • Human-machine interaction
Visual measurement methods

 

Imaging sensors have found their way into industry, everyday life and research since the development of the digital camera.

Especially where precise measurements, fast and comprehensible decisions and the connection to computer systems for controlling processes are required, cameras - often in combination with other sensors such as acoustics, laser scanners or geodetic instruments, but also through intelligent placement of the sensors by means of robots - can provide new insights and initiate rapid action.

 

Machine vision is based on the ability of humans to visually perceive their environment. The Machine Vision and Applications research group uses a variety of machine vision techniques for applications in industrial inspection and measurement, human-centered image analysis, and robotics. The Intelligent Acoustic Solutions research group develops acoustic testing techniques for materials inspection. These non-contact techniques are ideally suited for measuring surfaces, finding defects on workpieces, and controlling robots.

The visual and acoustic measurement techniques are used in tunnel surveying as well as in planning for wooden stairs, they are used on Mars rovers for navigation and mapping, and they measure the amount of rain in so-called "distrometers".

 

Automated visual inspection of metal surfaces helps control production processes in steel mills, and workpieces such as parquet wood can be checked for quality and defects in seconds during production. Human labour is not completely replaced in the process, but tasks are efficiently shifted to higher levels, which also increases the competitiveness of primarily domestic industry through the research performance of the Institute DIGITAL.

Surface inspection technologies for industry. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

The ever-increasing demand for quality in steel products requires a high level of quality inspection and seamless process control. Automated visual inspection of metal surfaces helps control production processes in steel mills, and workpieces such as parquet wood can be checked for quality and defects in seconds during production.

Acoustic and Vibro-acoustic Sensor Technology

 

The intelligent algorithms developed at the institute analyse audio and vibration signals and recognise special noises and acoustic scenes in real time. Using the latest methods from the field of artificial intelligence, the probability of future events is predicted (predictive modelling) and the efficiency of production processes is increased. The combination of several modalities (e.g. audio and video) in one system enables a very high recognition rate of a wide range of events and is used as an innovative monitoring system in a variety of applications for the optimisation of industrial processes:

  • Production/Machine Monitoring of industrial plants to track production processes and detect deviations. Projects: BASF, MAHMAMT
  • Predictive maintenance Detection of wear and tear and early alerting of faulty processes. Projects: OMV, VOEST
  • Industrial quality assurance monitoring of product quality in the manufacturing process.
Digital
Phone:+43 316 876-1631
Fax+43 316 8769-1631
E-mailfranz.graf@joanneum.at
Industrial Internet of Things

 

"Industrial Internet" technologies enable process optimisation through data analysis of sensor streams generated by Internet of Things (IoT).

>> More Information

Digital
Phone:+43 316 876-1153
Fax+43 316 876-1191
E-mailherwig.zeiner@joanneum.at

Industrie

Intelligente Methoden, Lösungen und Verfahren für höhere Effizienz und Ressourcenschonung in der Produktion.

Credit:JOANNEUM RESEARCH/Bergmann

Bildverarbeitungslabor. Credit:JOANNEUM RESEARCH/Bergmann

 

Wir konzentrieren uns auf die Anwendung verschiedener Sensortechnologien, um der Industrie zu höherer Effizienz und Ressourcenschonung bei gleichzeitiger Flexibilität in der Produktion zu verhelfen. Optische und akustische Sensoren werden zu intelligenten Sensorsystemen kombiniert, um hochpräzise Messungen zu ermöglichen und aus den Datenströmen, mit Hilfe von Künstlicher Intelligenz, neue Erkenntnisse über die beobachteten Produkte und Prozesse zu erlangen.

 

Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • Qualitätssicherung mit intelligenter Sensorik
  • Überwachung von Produktionsanlagen
  • Altstoffsortierung
  • Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion
Visuelle Messverfahren

 

Bildgebende Sensoren haben seit der Entwicklung der Digitalkamera in Industrie, Alltag und Forschung Einzug gehalten.

Speziell dort, wo präzise Messungen, schnelle und nachvollziehbare Entscheidungen und die Anbindung an Rechnersysteme für Steuerung von Prozessen notwendig sind, können Kameras - oft in Verbindung mit anderen Sensoren wie Akustik, Laserscannern oder geodätischen Instrumenten, aber auch durch intelligente Platzierung der Sensoren mittels Robotern - neue Erkenntnisse liefern und rasches Handeln einleiten.

 

Maschinelles Sehen (Machine Vision) orientiert sich an der Fähigkeit des Menschen, seine Umwelt visuell zu erfassen. Die Forschungsgruppe Bildanalyse und Messsysteme verwendet vielfältige Techniken maschinellen Sehens für Anwendungen aus der industriellen Inspektion und Messtechnik, der Human-zentrierten Bildanalyse, sowie der Robotik.
Die Forschungsgruppe Intelligente Akustische Lösungen entwickelt akustische Prüfverfahren zur Werkstoffkontrolle. Diese berührungslosen Techniken sind bestens dazu geeignet, Oberflächen zu vermessen, Fehler auf Werkstücken zu finden, und Roboter zu steuern.

Die visuellen und akustischen Messverfahren kommen in der Tunnelvermessung ebenso zur Anwendung wie in der Planung für Holztreppen, sie werden auf Marsrovern zur Navigation und Kartierung eingesetzt und messen die Menge von Regen in sogenannten "Distrometern".

 

Die automatisierte visuelle Prüfung von Metalloberflächen hilft die Produktionsprozesse in Stahlwerken zu steuern, und Werkstücke wie etwa Parketthölzer können bei der Produktion in Sekundenschnelle auf Qualität und Fehler überprüft werden. Die menschliche Arbeitskraft wird dabei nicht vollständig ersetzt, sondern Aufgaben werden effizient auf höhere Ebenen verlagert, womit auch die Konkurrenzfähigkeit der vornehmlich heimischen Industrie durch die Forschungsleistung des Instituts DIGITAL erhöht wird.

Oberflächeninspektionstechnologien für Industrie. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

Der ständig steigende Anspruch an die Qualität von Stahlprodukten erfordert ein hohes Maß an Qualitätsprüfung und eine lückenlose Prozesskontrolle. Die automatisierte visuelle Prüfung von Metalloberflächen hilft, die Produktionsprozesse in Stahlwerken zu steuern, und Werkstücke wie etwa Parketthölzer können bei der Produktion in Sekundenschnelle auf Qualität und Fehler überprüft werden.

Akustische und Vibro-akustische Sensorik

 

Die am Institut entwickelten intelligenten Algorithmen analysieren Audio- und Vibrationssignale und erkennen spezielle Geräusche und akustische Szenen in Echtzeit. Mittels neuester Methoden aus dem Bereich der künstlichen Intelligenz wird die Wahrscheinlichkeit zukünftiger Ereignisse prognostiziert (Predictive Modelling) und die Effizienz der Produktionsprozesse erhöht. Die Kombination mehrerer Modalitäten (z.B. Audio und Video) in einem System ermöglicht eine sehr hohe Erkennungsrate von unterschiedlichsten Ereignissen und kommt als ein innovatives Monitoring-System in einer Vielzahl von Anwendungen bei der Optimierung industrieller Prozesse zum Einsatz:

  • Production/Machine Monitoring von Industrieanlagen, um Produktionsabläufe zu verfolgen und Abweichungen festzustellen. Projekte: BASF, MAHMAMT
  • Predictive Maintenance Detektion von Abnutzungserscheinungen und frühzeitige Alarmierung bei fehlerhaften Prozessen. Projekte: OMV, VOEST
  • Industrial quality assurance Monitoring der Produktqualität im Fertigungsprozess.
Digital
Telefon:+43 316 876-1631
Fax+43 316 8769-1631
E-Mailfranz.graf@joanneum.at
Industrial Internet of Things

 

Die Technologien aus dem Bereich „Industrial Internet“ ermöglichen Prozessoptimierung durch Datenanalyse von Sensorströmen, die vom IoT produziert werden.

>>Mehr Information

Digital
Telefon:+43 316 876-1153
Fax+43 316 876-1191
E-Mailherwig.zeiner@joanneum.at