Mobility

Digital solutions for smart monitoring of traffic infrastructure and the development of highly autonomous driving functions.

Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH/Bergmann

Intelligent acoustic solutions for road traffic. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH/Bergmann

 

We develop and research intelligent systems to increase safety in various areas of mobility. These include road traffic, but also rail traffic and off-road applications. The combination of competences from the fields of acoustic and visual sensor technology, including the associated signal processing, with technologies from remote sensing and navigation enables innovative solutions to be developed to market maturity.

 

Research focus:

  • Intelligent traffic monitoring
  • Highly autonomous driving
  • Digital traffic infrastructure
  • Visibility measurement
Acoustic tunnel monitoring

 

Intelligent acoustic solutions are used to monitor traffic and detect critical situations. The time from the occurrence of an incident to the alerting of the tunnel management is crucial in the event of a critical incident and is minimised by the innovative safety system of "Acoustic Tunnel Monitoring" AKUT® by means of microphones mounted in the tunnel. This saves valuable time and offers both the people involved in the accident and the following vehicles a maximum of immediate assistance and accident prevention.

Digital
Phone:+43 316 876-1631
Fax+43 316 8769-1631
E-mailfranz.graf@joanneum.at
Testing autonomous driving functions

 

The operation of the unique innovation laboratory offers services for the acquisition, processing and delivery of mobile mapping data, as well as the creation of highly accurate reference maps for testing and validation of automated driving functions. This results in UHD (Ultra High Definition) maps with the highest accuracy and completeness as well as the finest level of detail, which are also enriched with measurement data from radar and Lidar sensors for the purpose of sensor simulation and stimulation.

>> More Information

Digital
Phone:+43 316 876-1779
Fax+43 316 8769-1779
E-mailpatrick.luley@joanneum.at
Visibility measurement

 

For air traffic safety as well as for the reliable and precise estimation of visibility conditions and to mitigate the disadvantages of current subjective observer reports, visIvis®, a camera-based visibility measurement, provides a solution for the automatic determination of visibility conditions using image processing methods.

Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

Kamerabasierte Sichtweitenmessung. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

Digital
Phone:+43 316 876-1702
Fax+43 316 8769-1702
E-mailharald.ganster@joanneum.at
Transport planning

 

Modern visualisation techniques and mobile applications guarantee optimal decision support, improve participation processes in transport planning projects or help to create barrier-free access to the use of public transport.

Digital
Phone:+43 316 876-1779
Fax+43 316 8769-1779
E-mailpatrick.luley@joanneum.at
Digital
Phone:+43 316 876-1240
Fax+43 316 876-1191
E-mailgeorg.thallinger@joanneum.at

Mobilität

Digitale Lösungen für smartes Monitoring von Verkehrsinfrastruktur und die Entwicklung von hochautonomen Fahrfunktionen.

Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH/Bergmann

Intelligente akustische Lösungen für Straßenverkehr. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH/Bergmann

 

Wir entwickeln und erforschen intelligente Systeme zur Erhöhung der Sicherheit in verschiedensten Bereichen der Mobilität. Dazu zählen der Straßenverkehr, aber auch der Schienenverkehr und Offroad-Anwendungen. Die Kombination der Kompetenzen aus den Bereichen der akustischen und visuellen Sensorik samt dazugehöriger Signalverarbeitung mit Technologien aus der Fernerkundung und Navigation ermöglichen innovative Lösungen, die bis zur Marktreife entwickelt werden.

 

Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • Intelligentes Verkehrsmonitoring
  • Hochautonomes Fahren
  • Digitale Verkehrsinfrastruktur
  • Sichtweitenmessung
Akustisches Tunnelmonitoring

 

Mittels intelligenter akustischer Lösungen wird das Monitoring des Verkehrsgeschehens und die Detektion von kritischen Situationen durchgeführt. Die Zeit vom Auftreten eines Störfalls bis zur Alarmierung des Tunnelmanagements ist bei einem kritischen Ereignis ausschlaggebend und wird durch das innovative Sicherheitssystem des "Akustischen Tunnelmonitorings" AKUT® mittels im Tunnel montierter Mikrofone minimiert. Dadurch wird kostbare Zeit gewonnen und sowohl den Unfallbeteiligten als auch den nachkommenden Fahrzeugen ein Maximum an Soforthilfe und Unfallprävention geboten.

Digital
Telefon:+43 316 876-1631
Fax+43 316 8769-1631
E-Mailfranz.graf@joanneum.at
Testen von autonomen Fahrfunktionen

 

Durch den Betrieb des einzigartigen Innovationslabors werden Services zur Aufnahme, Prozessierung und Lieferung von Mobile-Mapping-Daten, sowie die Erstellung von hochgenauen Referenzkarten für Test und Validierung von automatisierten Fahrfunktionen angeboten. Dadurch entstehen UHD (Ultra High Definition) Karten mit höchster Genauigkeit und Vollständigkeit sowie feinstem Detailgrad, welche zum Zweck der Sensorsimulation und -stimulation auch mit Messdaten von Radar und Lidar Sensoren angereichert werden.

>> Mehr Information

Bild zur Mobilität: Testen von autonomen Fahrfunktionen

Digitaler Zwilling der Kreuzung Körösistrasse-Wickenburggasse in Graz für das Testen von hoch-automatisierten Fahrzeugen. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

Digital
Telefon:+43 316 876-1779
Fax+43 316 8769-1779
E-Mailpatrick.luley@joanneum.at
Sichtweitenvermessung

 

Für die Sicherheit im Flugverkehr sowie für die zuverlässige und präzise Abschätzung der Sichtbedingungen und um die Nachteile der aktuellen subjektiven Beobachtermeldungen zu mindern, wird mit visIvis®, einer kamerabasierten Sichtweitenmessung, eine Lösung zur automatischen Bestimmung der Sichtverhältnisse mit Hilfe von Bildverarbeitungsmethoden angeboten.

 

Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

Kamerabasierte Sichtweitenmessung. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

Digital
Telefon:+43 316 876-1702
Fax+43 316 8769-1702
E-Mailharald.ganster@joanneum.at
Verkehrsplanung

 

Moderne Visualisierungstechniken und mobile Anwendungen garantieren optimale Entscheidungsunterstützung, verbessern Partizipationsprozesse in Verkehrsplanungsprojekten oder helfen einen barrierefreien Zugang zur Benutzung des öffentlichen Verkehrs zu schaffen.

Digital
Telefon:+43 316 876-1779
Fax+43 316 8769-1779
E-Mailpatrick.luley@joanneum.at
Digital
Telefon:+43 316 876-1240
Fax+43 316 876-1191
E-Mailgeorg.thallinger@joanneum.at