Telecommunications, Navigation and Space

Mobile applications, measuring devices and processes for the space and communications industry.

Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

Hilmwarte. The recently constructed Q-/V-band satellite ground station is one of only three comparable stations worldwide. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

 

For decades, we have been providing top performance in applications, measuring instruments and processes in the fields of space and telecommunications. This includes the optimisation of satellite transmission at extremely high radio frequencies as well as in the optical range and the security of satellite navigation reception. In addition, we develop algorithms for the three-dimensional analysis of image material from interplanetary space missions. These technologies can also be used for high-precision surveys on Earth.

 

Research focus:

  • Satellites and terrestrial broadband communications
  • Satellite navigation
  • Radar technology and wave propagation
  • Development of space-qualified hardware and software
  • Space robotics
Broadband communication

 

The long-standing, internationally recognised expertise of the Institute DIGITAL in wave propagation and satellite communication is the basis for experiments on the stability of satellite navigation systems. Since almost all modern devices contain information and communication technology, the topic has gained enormous importance and also affects autonomous vehicles and aircraft, which rely on a functioning navigation system for a successful mission.

 

DIGITAL has expertise built on the technologies of "software defined radio" and signal analysis:

  • Design of communication systems, which starts with the definition of customer requirements and architecture design and goes all the way to prototypes for new demanding applications. Both the satellite and terrestrial technology sectors are covered here.
  • Development of communication terminals for high-speed Internet access. Based on the "Software Radio Platform", it is possible to very quickly implement different requirements with regard to transmission, error protection and multiple access procedures. With little effort, specific solutions can be made ready for the market immediately.
  • The monitoring, measurement and analysis of radio signals is of great importance for the reliability, availability and security of communication systems. Based on the "Software Radio Platform", customised solutions in the area of maintenance and security can be offered for such systems.

 

A mobile test laboratory, the "High-Tech Bus", which is on the road for the European Space Agency (ESA) and helps to improve the navigation system and internet network, rounds off the Institute's "Space" profile.

Hilmwarte Installation. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

 

The recently built Q-/V-band satellite ground station is one of only three comparable stations in the world - an essential step by our experts for the later natural use of these ultra-high frequencies for satellite radio.

 

This order from the European Space Agency ESA is just another step in our consistent development, which is also of interest to customers and partners from industry. Our expertise also includes services for terrestrial broadband communication, with design and development of interactive and network systems. For satellite radio, we develop innovative modem solutions and efficient network configurations. This competence enables us to establish extremely powerful data connections to aircraft in disaster scenarios. Our powerful simulation hardware supports our research work.

High-precision precipitation measurement

 

2D video distrometer: The basic prerequisite for a wide range of applications in intelligence and remote sensing is reliable models of precipitation fine structure. The highly accurate instrument used worldwide to measure precipitation particles provides the basis for more accurate weather forecasts and precise statements about the effects of individual precipitation types on satellite radio links with comprehensive evaluation options.

>> More Information

Space Robotics

 

A variety of machine vision techniques for applications in industrial inspection and metrology as well as robotics are being used to guide the European-Russian Mars rover project ExoMars through the image evaluations of the stereo panorama camera PanCam. Their images are evaluated three-dimensionally and visualised in the highest quality in cooperation with the VRVis Zentrum für Virtual Reality und Visualisierung Forschungs-GmbH (Vienna). Scientific and technical participation with 3D vision solutions in the US Mars-2020 mission with its stereo zoom instrument Mastcam-Z as well as the European HERA mission 2026 to the asteroid system Dydimos within the framework of the "Space Situational Awareness" initiative of the European Space Agency ESA are a cornerstone of the international visibility of the Institute DIGITAL.

 

>> More Information

Mars-Rover. Credit: NASA JPL-Caltech

Mars-Rover. Credit: NASA JPL-Caltech

Digital
Phone:+43 316 876-1716
Fax+43 316 8769-1716
E-mailgerhard.paar@joanneum.at

Telekommunikation, Navigation und Weltraum

Mobile Anwendungen, Messgeräte- und Verfahren für die Weltraum- und Kommunikationsindustrie.

Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

Hilmwarte. Die jüngst errichtete Q-/V-Band Satellitenbodenstation ist eine von weltweit nur drei vergleichbaren Stationen. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

 

Wir erbringen seit Jahrzehnten Spitzenleistungen bei Anwendungen, Messgeräten und Verfahren in den Bereichen Weltraum und Telekommunikation. Dies umfasst die Optimierung der Satellitenübertragung bei extrem hohen Funkfrequenzen sowie im optischen Bereich und die Sicherheit des Satellitennavigationsempfangs. Zudem entwickeln wir Algorithmen zur dreidimensionalen Analyse von Bildmaterialien aus interplanetaren Weltraummissionen. Diese Technologien lassen sich auch für hochpräzise Vermessungen auf der Erde einsetzen.

 

Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • Satelliten und terrestrische Breitbandkommunikation
  • Satellitennavigation
  • Radartechnik und Wellenausbreitung
  • Entwicklung weltraumtauglicher Hard- und Software
  • Weltraumrobotik
Breitbandkommunikation

 

Die langjährige, international anerkannte Kompetenz des Instituts DIGITAL in der Wellenausbreitung und Satellitenkommunikation ist die Basis für Experimente zur Stabilität von Satellitennavigationssystemen. Dadurch, dass in fast allen modernen Geräten Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie steckt, erlangte das Thema enorme Bedeutung und betrifft auch autonome Fahr- und Flugzeuge, die für eine erfolgreiche Mission auf ein funktionierendes Navigationssystem aufbauen.

DIGITAL verfügt über Expertise, die auf den Technologien "Software Radio" und Signalanalyse aufbaut:

  • Design von Kommunikationssystemen, das bei der Definition der Kundenanforderungen und dem Architekturdesign beginnt und bis zum Prototypen für neue anspruchsvolle Anwendungen geht. Hier wird sowohl der Satelliten-, als auch der terrestrische Technologiebereich abgedeckt
  • Entwicklung von Kommunikationsterminals für High-speed Internetzugang. Basierend auf der “Software Radio Plattform“ ist es möglich, sehr rasch unterschiedliche Anforderungen hinsichtlich Übertragungs-, Fehlersicherungs- und Vielfachzugriffsverfahren umzusetzen. Mit geringem Aufwand können spezifische Lösungen umgehend zur Marktreife gebracht werden.
  • Die Überwachung, Messung und Analyse von Funksignalen ist von hoher Bedeutung für die Zuverlässigkeit, Verfügbarkeit und Sicherheit von Kommunikationssystemen. Basierend auf der “Software Radio Platform“ können maßgeschneiderte Lösungen im Bereich Wartung und Sicherheit für solche Systems angeboten werden.

 

Ein fahrendes Testlabor, der „High-Tech-Bus“, der für die Europäische Weltraumorganisation (ESA) unterwegs ist und hilft, Navigationssystem und Internetnetz zu verbessern, rundet das „Space“ Profil des Instituts ab.

Hilmwarte Installation. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

 

Die jüngst errichtete Q-/V-Band Satellitenbodenstation ist eine von weltweit nur drei vergleichbaren Stationen - ein wesentlicher Schritt unserer Experten/innen für die spätere selbstverständliche Nutzung dieser Höchstfrequenzen für Satellitenfunk.

Dieser Auftrag der europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA ist nur ein weiterer Schritt in unserer konsequenten Entwicklung, die auch für Kunden und Partner aus der Wirtschaft von Interesse ist. Unsere Kompetenz umfasst dabei auch Dienstleistungen zu terrestrischer Breitbandkommunikation, mit Design und Entwicklung von interaktiven und Netzwerksystemen. Für den Satellitenfunk entwickeln wir innovative Modemlösungen und effiziente Netzwerkkonfigurationen. Diese Kompetenz ermöglicht es uns, in Katastrophenszenarien zu Flugzeugen extrem leistungsfähige Datenverbindungen herzustellen. Unsere leistungsfähige Simulationshardware unterstützt unsere Forschungsarbeit.

Hochgenaue Niederschlagsvermessung

 

2D-Video-Distrometer: Die Grundvoraussetzung für eine breite Palette von Anwendungen in der Nachrichtentechnik und Fernerkundung sind zuverlässige Modelle der Niederschlagsfeinstruktur. Das weltweit eingesetzte hochgenaue Gerät zur Messung von Niederschlagspartikeln liefert mit umfassenden Auswertungsmöglichkeiten die Basis für genauere Wettervorhersagen und präzise Aussagen über die Auswirkungen der einzelnen Niederschlagsarten auf Satellitenfunkstrecken.

>>Mehr Information

Weltraumrobotik

 

Vielfältige Techniken maschinellen Sehens für Anwendungen aus der industriellen Inspektion und Messtechnik sowie der Robotik werden eingesetzt, um das europäisch-russische Mars-Rover Projekt ExoMars federführend durch die Bildauswertungen der Stereo-Panoramakamera PanCam zu begleiten. Deren Bilder werden dreidimensional ausgewertet und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem VRVis Zentrum für Virtual Reality und Visualisierung Forschungs-GmbH (Wien) in höchster Qualität visualisiert. Wissenschaftliche und technische Beteiligungen mit 3D Vision Lösungen an der US-Mission Mars-2020 mit ihrem Stereo-Zoom Instrument Mastcam-Z sowie der Europäischen HERA Mission 2026 zum Asteroidensystem Dydimos im Rahmen der „Space Situational Awareness“ Initiative der Europäischen Weltraum-Agentur ESA sind ein Eckpfeiler der internationalen Sichtbarkeit des Instituts DIGITAL.

>>Mehr Information

Mars-Rover. Credit: NASA JPL-Caltech

Mars-Rover. Credit: NASA JPL-Caltech

Digital
Telefon:+43 316 876-1716
Fax+43 316 8769-1716
E-Mailgerhard.paar@joanneum.at