Culture and Creative Industries

Efficient digital solutions for preserving cultural heritage and creating new media formats.

Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

Efficient digital solutions for the preservation of cultural heritage. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

 

We research solutions for the sustainable preservation of cultural heritage and the design of new, interactive media formats that exploit the possibilities of modern consumer electronics.

In addition to technical solutions, we offer above all the necessary competence and experience to advise on migration concepts and the optimisation of workflows and to develop customised solutions.

Research focus:

  • Documentation and inventory
  • Quality assurance in the digitisation of film and video
  • Media production and monitoring
Documentation and inventory

 

We offer a range of solutions that contribute to the preservation, conservation and accessibility of cultural heritage. Driven by the possibilities of digitisation, originally from paper index cards to today's high-resolution film and video objects, our software solutions contribute to supporting all work processes. From the registration and cataloguing of objects to scientific evaluations, the planning of exhibitions and the creation of websites and catalogues.

In recent years, DIGITAL has been able to assert itself in several international tenders for archaeological information systems with its holistic solution imdas pro, combined with excellent application knowledge and consulting services. If the requirement is to migrate from existing data stocks from mostly historically grown databases into a new, sustainably maintained and further developed information system, then DIGITAL with its team of experts and imdas pro offers the optimal customised solution.

>> More Information

Film and video quality analysis

 

In the field of audio-visual media, JOANNEUM RESEARCH has developed the world's first film restoration solution that is purely software-based and runs on standard computers. This solution, which has been successfully marketed worldwide by a Styrian company for many years and is being further developed together with it, enables the automatic removal of typical ageing faults and defects such as dust, scratches, mould stains or discolouration.

Film-/Video Restoration

Based on the procedures for digital restoration, a product was developed for the automatic content-based quality assessment of film and video content.

VidiCert is the quality assurance (QC) solution specialised in ensuring the highest digitisation quality for film and video collections. The extensive automated features for detecting specific audio-visual errors that may occur in the digitisation process and the highly efficient interactive QC features enable cost-efficient and high-quality digitisation workflows for broadcast archives, film archives and any other institution that wants to preserve and reuse archived videos and films.

Quality Assurance Film/Video

 

Digital
Phone:+43 316 876-1240
Fax+43 316 876-1191
E-mailgeorg.thallinger@joanneum.at

Kultur und Kreativwirtschaft

Effiziente digitale Lösungen zur Bewahrung des kulturellen Erbes und zur Erstellung neuer Medienformate.

Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

Effiziente digitale Lösungen zur Bewahrung des kulturellen Erbes. Credit: JOANNEUM RESEARCH

 

Wir forschen an Lösungen zum nachhaltigen Erhalt des kulturellen Erbes und zur Gestaltung neuer, interaktiver Medienformate, die die Möglichkeiten moderner Unterhaltungselektronik ausnutzen.

Neben den technischen Lösungen bieten wir vor allem die notwendige Kompetenz und Erfahrung, um bei Migrationskonzepten und der Optimierung von Arbeitsabläufen zu beraten und kundenspezifische Lösungen zu entwickeln.

Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • Dokumentation und Inventarisierung
  • Qualitätssicherung bei der Digitalisierung von Film und Video
  • Medienproduktion und –monitoring
Dokumentation und Inventarisierung

 

Wir bieten eine Reihe von Lösungen, die zur Erhaltung, Bewahrung und Zugänglichkeit des kulturellen Erbes beitragen. Angetrieben von den Möglichkeiten der Digitalisierung, ursprünglich von den papierenen Karteikarten bis zu heutigen hochauflösenden Film- und Videoobjekten, tragen unsere Softwarelösungen zur Unterstützung bei sämtlichen Arbeitsprozessen bei. Von der Registrierung und Katalogisierung der Objekte über wissenschaftliche Auswertungen bis hin zur Planung von Ausstellungen und der Erstellung von Websites und Katalogen.

In den letzten Jahren konnte sich DIGITAL mit der ganzheitlichen Lösung imdas pro, verbunden mit einem exzellenten Anwendungswissen und Beratungsangebot, bei mehreren internationalen Ausschreibungen für archäologische Informationssysteme behaupten. Wenn die Anforderung im Raum steht, aus bestehenden Datenbeständen aus meist historisch gewachsenen Datenbanken in ein neues, nachhaltig gepflegtes und weiterentwickeltes Informationssystem zu migrieren, dann bietet DIGITAL mit seinem Expertenteam und imdas pro die optimale maßgeschneiderte Lösung.

>>Mehr Information

Film- und Videoqualitätsanalyse

 

Im Bereich der audiovisuellen Medien hat JOANNEUM RESEARCH die weltweit erste Filmrestaurierungslösung entwickelt, die rein auf Software basiert und auf Standard-Rechnern lauffähig ist. Diese Lösung, die seit vielen Jahren von einem steirischen Unternehmen weltweit, erfolgreich vermarktet und zusammen mit diesem weiterentwickelt wird, ermöglicht die automatische Entfernung typischer Alterungsfehler und Defekte wie Staub, Kratzer, Schimmelflecken oder Verfärbungen.

Film-/Videorestaurierung

Auf Basis der Verfahren für die digitale Restaurierung wurde ein Produkt für die automatische inhaltsbasierte Qualitätsbeurteilung von Film- und Videoinhalten entwickelt.

VidiCert ist die Qualitätssicherungs(QC)-Lösung, die darauf spezialisiert ist, höchste Digitalisierungsqualität für Film- und Videosammlungen zu gewährleisten. Die umfangreichen automatisierten Funktionen zur Erkennung spezifischer audiovisueller Fehler, die im Digitalisierungsprozess auftreten können, und die hocheffizienten interaktiven QC-Funktionen ermöglichen kosteneffiziente und qualitativ hochwertige Digitalisierungs-Workflows für Rundfunkarchive, Filmarchive und jede andere Institution, die archivierte Videos und Filme erhalten und wiederverwenden möchte.

Qualitätssicherung Film/Video

Digital
Telefon:+43 316 876-1240
Fax+43 316 876-1191
E-Mailgeorg.thallinger@joanneum.at